Preschool!!!!!

Wow, so much has happened since I last posted.  I’m sorry it’s been so long between updates.  Life gets busy when you have five kids!  The biggest development for PJ is that he has begun the 2 year old preschool at our local YMCA.  He loves it!!!  He is the only non-typical child in the room.  I spoke with the teacher last spring to see if she thought she could handle it.  I then rechecked with her in the summer, and then again about two weeks ago.  Each time she reassured me and told me to sign him up.  Well, I finally did and he began yesterday.

I hate to admit that I was that mom that drives preschool teachers crazy.  I didn’t leave the room for the first half hour.  PJ was happy and having fun, but I had to make sure.  I was worried about everything, from him sitting in a chair all by himself to him being able to participate in any activity they tried to do.  At one point the teachers were helping all of the children wash their hands.  Those who were finished were sitting at the table and being led in singing “Old McDonald” by one of the teachers.  During snack time, PJ kept staring at the wall of mirrors and singing and signing Old McDonald had a cow!!!  I was one proud mama.

PJ still isn’t walking but I think he’s getting close.  His physical therapist told me she wasn’t happy with his level of progress and sent us up to Sheboygan to be fitted for a Spio suit.  The best way I can describe this suit is that it resembles a mix between a bullet proof vest and a wrestling uniform.  It’s one piece that will velcro together.  In the front it is made of a type of performance material, similar to the under armor the older boys wear to football.  The back is made of a type of neoprene material.  PJ fell asleep in the car ride up and woke up as soon as we got there.  The therapist put the suit on him and put him down and PJ took three purposeful steps.  It was amazing.  I asked this therapist what the oldest age he has ever had a child with Down syndrome start walking.  He told me 12.  That just about knocked the wind about of me.   But he then went on to tell me that PJ was very close.  He could see that he needed to increase his core strength and needed more body awareness of his core muscles.  That is exactly what this new body armor is designed to do.  So, I’ve decided to call his new suit his “super hero” suit.  He has to wear it under his clothes during all waking hours.  (It’s really hot here now but is supposed to cool off in a few days)  The only drawback I find to it is that it really increases his amount of reflux.  But we will live with that.

I was talking to a friend yesterday about PJ and beginning preschool.  I really debated about whether or not to sign him up because I just wasn’t sure he was ready.  I am not sure how much of my concern was based upon my clearly lower expectations of PJ.  PJ seemed to do as well as most other two year olds in the room.  I know he is my baby but I need to raise my expectations because I know if I do he will meet and exceed them!!!  Way to go PJ!!

photo (13) photo (14) photo (15)

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 13:51:47

    Thought you might enjoy this commercial, I found it thought provoking. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

