A Little Perspective

Earlier this month, we had the opportunity to spend a week in northern Michigan with my family.  My parents have a beautiful cottage up on Hubbard Lake and we go there every Fourth of July.  We got there on Saturday night excited for the upcoming week.  But we woke up Sunday morning to a very sad story.  The day before there was a dad who was out with his kids on the lake.  He was driving the boat while his kids were tubing.  There was also a gentleman riding around on a jet ski.  Now I have heard different accounts of the story and I don’t know who is to blame but the end result was the man on the jet ski hit one of the children.  She was 11.  Our neighbor’s daughter in law was the first on the scene and gave her CPR until the paramedics arrived.  She said she knew as she was working on the little girl that she was already gone.

It was hard throughout the week to not think about her.  We actually ended up not spending very much time on the water and when we did my kids were scanning the water for Jet skis.  On the day we left we were all hugging and tearing up because this wonderful week that we look forward to all year was ending.  But then we remembered that there was a family burying their daughter and crying real tears of grief.  A little perspective.

I was out yesterday thinking about how blessed I am.  I have a husband who still loves me after 16 years of marriage.  I have five awesome boys.  I have a house that I love and we live in a beautiful area filled with really great people.  As I start to think of all of my blessings I always come back to PJ.  I would never in a million years have imagined that a child with Down syndrome would be one of the greatest blessings God could have ever given me.  There is nothing that I wouldn’t do for him.  Because of PJ and my new connection with the Down syndrome community, I have made a lot of facebook friends who have children with Ds.  One of them is named Isaac and he is a year younger than PJ.  He was also born with anal-rectal malformation and needed emergency surgery to have a colostomy put it.  He went in on Monday for his colostomy reversal.  I remember being so scared for PJ during that surgery.  So much could go wrong.  But PJ came through with flying colors.  He has been colostomy free for over a year now.  Isaac’s surgery didn’t have the same outcome.  He came out of surgery and about a day later his tummy was bloated.  They realized he had a tear and so they had to take him back into more surgery.  After that surgery his blood pressure started to drop.  They were giving him BP medicine and his oxygen levels dropped.  So they had to intubate him.  He is now on a ventilator and is having seizures.  They gave him a 24 hour EEG and it showed that the core of his brain wasn’t getting enough oxygen.  They don’t know if he will ever wake up and what he will be like if he does.  The doctors are asking his mother if she would like to take him off the vent.  It’s every parent’s worst nightmare.  I find myself checking Facebook every 15 minutes to see if there are any  new updates.

Dave, along with many other people. always ask me why I follow sad stories.  There is enough sadness in this world without actually going looking for it.  I’m not sure I can answer that except to say that it brings perspective into my life.

Count your blessings.  Hug your children.  Forgive people who have wronged you.  Apologize to those who you have wronged.  Pray.  And then do it all over again!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine Ward
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 14:28:51

    Two very sad and tragic stories but both opportunities to count our many blessings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

