What’s Important

As I woke up this morning feeling very dismayed that last night’s election didn’t go the way I had hoped, I checked my email and was brought back to reality.  A friend of mine has a nephew who is 5 years old.  Not too long ago he was diagnosed with cancer.  The cancer had spread throughout his leg and he had to have his leg amputated.  This broke the family’s heart but not the little boys spirit.  He has been having back pain now for a week and had some tests done to determine what was causing it.  While the rest of the country was either celebrating or crying over the election, this little boy’s parents were being told that the cancer had spread to this lungs, his back, and the arteries to his heart.  They were told there was nothing else they could do for him except keep him comfortable.  They were told he may only have a few more months to live.

I have never met this child or his parents and can’t even begin to imagine the heartache they are feeling right now.  We all need to remember what is truly important in this life.  I stopped reading my email and began to cry.  I have five beautiful sons.  They are all healthy and they are all alive.  Both my parents are healthy and they are alive.  I have two sisters and one brother.  They are all happily married with children who are healthy and alive.  I have a baby with Down syndrome who is a joy to be around.  I have a mother in law who battled cancer this past year and won.  She is healthy and alive.  As this Thanksgiving season is upon us, I will remember all that I have to be thankful for today and everyday.  Parents, hug your children.  They are a gift that God has loaned to you.

Leave a Reply

