Down Syndrome Awareness Walk

Wow, things have been busy in this household during September.  You would think with the kids going back to school my life would slow down but the opposite seems to hold true.  We have about 4 football games every week to go to, not to mention all of the practices for Alex, Tommy and Joey.  My job at the YMCA has started back up (I teach the 4 year old preschool)   PJ and I spent countless hours over at school for the book fair too.  With all of the craziness in our lives, I am happy to report that PJ is doing awesome.  Last week I walked into his room in the morning to find him sitting up.  Now this is a pretty big deal.  Although he has been sitting unassisted for quite a while now, this was the first time he had gotten into a sitting position from lying down on his own.  He has done it three more times, but all in his crib.  David and I have sat and watched so we can figure out how he’s doing it.  But as usual, he won’t perform on command.  I’m not sure if he is using the mattress as a sort of spring to get up, pushing himself up, or using the bars to pull himself up.  Either way, it is a huge deal.  He is also starting to try to pick up some food and get it to his mouth.  Usually if you put food in front of him he just sits and cries until you feed him.  So, we are definitely making progress.

I have been working with PJ on learning sign language.  Right now he has nine signs. We watch the Baby Signing Time video every day (a great present from Aunt Kathleen!)  Sometimes I have it on just while he is playing on the floor.  When I walk in I find him staring at the TV and trying to imitate what he sees.  He really is very smart.

PJ also seems to really like watching football.  This is a good thing since football is part of life in our family this time of the year.  When we are at his brothers games he will clap and raise his hands when you say “touchdown.”  It’s funny because when David puts football on TV, PJ will stop what he’s doing and watch along with daddy.

This weekend we have decided to join the Down Syndrome Awareness Walk which is being held at the Milwaukee County Zoo.  I am really excited.  We talked about walking in it last year but I just wasn’t ready to see a whole bunch of different people of all ages with Down syndrome.  This year I feel so differently.  When I see another child with Ds I only see the potential that PJ has.  I get excited about what he will be doing.  We’re on this journey with a lot of really great people and I am blessed that God chose me to be PJ’s mom.  I am going to add the link on here in case anyone wishes to donate.  All of the money goes to the Down Syndrome Association of Wisconsin to help promote awareness and acceptance for people with Ds.  We are team PJ.  🙂  But I’d really love it if anyone wants to come out to walk with us!!!!  Here’s praying for good weather!!!

http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/lisakocab/16th-annual-awareness-walk-for-down-syndrome

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Chrysler
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 16:59:45

    How we adore our sweet little Patrick and appreciate these great photos and updates! Love to our dear Kocab family…

    Reply

  2. Rena Kocab
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 21:42:21

    Lisa,
    You and David continue to amaze me. What an amazing family you have. It makes me tired just hearing all the things that the two of you do. May God continue to bless your little family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

