Ben’s Kindergarten Graduation

Last week Ben graduated from Kindergarten.  It was a great day full of bittersweet feelings for me.  He was my baby for so long and sometimes I look at him and just wonder where did that baby go?  He has grown so tall and is so independent.  After the ceremony we were given a DVD of pictures taken throughout the year.  One of the first things I noticed while watching it was all of the pictures of moms who drove on field trips and helped out in the classroom.  I am having overwhelming feelings of guilt.  I was only in his room once all year.  For those of you who know me, I was always in my kids classrooms volunteering whenever and wherever needed.  When Ben was a baby we lived in Michigan and my mom would watch him every Wednesday afternoon so I could go do something on my own.  I almost always ended up at school teaching math games or making copies.  Ben has really gotten the shaft in terms of having his mom at school and I feel very guilty for that.  I know the day will come when he will beg me not to come to school.  That day will probably sneak up on me and happen much sooner than I anticipate.

On the DVD there were individual pictures of each child praying with a caption of what they were praying for.  Ben’s caption said, “Thank you God for my brother PJ.  He is such a blessing.”  I love that my kids see each other as blessings.  (usually)  Here are some great pictures from the day.

PJ and Emily before the ceremony

This is Emily’s big sister Lily.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Chrysler
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 15:19:49

    How I love that Ben and miss those Wednesdays!

    Reply

  2. Megan McComrick
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 17:08:03

    Ah Lisa…mother guilt is time wasted. We all have had to pick and choose where we can be when our time and attention is divided among so many kids. Add to that a child that has any medical issues and you’ve got a recipe for regret-it’s human to regret, but there is not a time or place that you’d ever rather be then with one of your children, each of them has had you for many important times in their lives, sharing is what makes big families so great.

    Happy, happy summer!
    Megan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

