An almost perfect day!!!

Memorial Day this year started out wonderful!  I came downstairs with PJ and saw that Ben and Joey were both awake.  So I took the three boys through a McDonald’s drive thru to get pancakes (and diet coke for me of course) and we went to have a pancake picnic breakfast on the beach of Lake Michigan.  Lake Michigan has always been my favorite of the Great Lakes and I realize that I don’t take advantage of living so close to it.  When you are sitting on the shore of a lake like Michigan and you can’t see to the other size I feel calm and serene and very close to God.  As I watched Ben and Joey trying to skip rocks (Ben was much more successful) I looked down to see my sweet baby just playing with his feet in the sand.  He was loving every moment of our morning, he didn’t even seem to mind the handfuls of sand that went into his mouth.  I started to think how grateful I am for my life and my children.  I have everything that I could ever want and way more than I could ever need.  Joey’s learning has totally taken off this year and for the first time ever things are finally connecting for him.  Sweet Ben seems to be good at just about anything he does.  His reading is incredible and he is a natural at basketball.  Then I looked at my little PJ.  He has come such a long way since last year.  He is rolling over, he can rock on his hands and knees, he babbles all the time and greets everyone in our family with the most beautiful smile.  I can’t wait to see the type of kid he turns into.

Ben reading an Elmo book to PJ at the beach

Skipping Stones

Going Home!

Well, the title of this post is an Almost perfect day so here was the not so perfect part.  We left the beach to go see the Parade in downtown Thiensville and we missed it!!! Ben was very disappointed.  That evening David and I were going to go to a nice restaurant to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary.  We decided to take PJ with us to make it easier for Alex who was babysitting.  We drove to the restaurant only to find it was closed.  Then we decided to try a different place.  As we were driving a terrible storm blew up.  I could barely see and almost ran into a downed tree.  The boys called and I sent them all into the basement.  PJ fell asleep so we knew we couldn’t wake him up to go into a restaurant so we ended up getting Wendy’s drive thru and going home.  We’ll have to try the anniversary dinner another time.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan McComrick
    May 29, 2012 @ 14:15:40

    Sorry the dinner didn’t work out- still sounds darn close to perfect! Happy Anniversary- to two people that have shown the rest of us how to live their vows!!

    Reply

  2. lisa
    May 29, 2012 @ 14:18:01

    thanks Megan!!!

    Reply

  3. Ann LeWalk
    May 29, 2012 @ 14:27:33

    Couldn’t help myself…I laughed aloud as I read your post (at work). Look at it this way: there are probably many anniversary dinners at nice restaurants that will soon be forgotten, but this one you will remember!

    I always enjoy and am inspired by your blog. I am pleased to hear things are well with you and your family. Take care, Lisa.

    Reply

  4. Susan Chrysler
    May 29, 2012 @ 18:04:51

    Love you, Lisa

    Reply

  5. Sarah Alzamora
    May 30, 2012 @ 08:45:39

    It is still a perfect day…a family together and love flowing. Nothing better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

