First Night of Recovery

Well, the surgery was a success today but he’s been in a lot of pain throughout the day.  The anesthesiologist gave him an epidural shot that was supposed to control the pain and last 6 to 8 hours.  It seemed to wear off after about 4 or 5.  He really cried hard for a while.  He is on Tylenol with codeine now and seems to be resting comfortably as long as he’s not moved.  If you move him he cries in pain.  Breaks my heart.  Right now he has this big four inch incision along his abdomen with a red rash all around it which I am assuming is from something they used in the operating room.  He is definitely not out of the woods yet.  As scary as today was, the next few days are the scariest.  The biggest fear is that he will get another infection like the one he got when they first put the colostomy in.  About 1/3 of patients get an infection after a colostomy reversal and our Doctor was preparing me for PJ to fall into that category.  This is when prayers are needed the most.  The biggest difference this time around is that I don’t have to leave him.  It was torture for me to have to put down my baby all hooked up to tubes and monitors and leave every night 10 months ago.  I know I probably won’t get any sleep here but it’s such a relief to not have to leave him.  I owe a ton of thanks to my parents for staying home with my kids and holding down the fort while I sit in a chair and hold a baby all day.  I don’t know what I’d do without you mom and dad!!!

Please keep praying for PJ.  The next few days are very important.

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joey
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 22:54:41

    Reply

  2. jess weiss
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 07:56:31

    Thinking of you all! PJ is such a strong little guy. Can’t wait to see him at the next solar heights gathering.
    I am home all day today, if there is anything you need help with, please call or email.
    Jesweis@gmail.com

    Any chance he’s on 9th or 10th floor? My mother is working their today, if you need anything her name is Diane (Dee Dee)!!

    Reply

    • lisa
      Mar 01, 2012 @ 18:29:26

      Thanks Jess!!! We are on the 9th floor, 9 West to be exact. I asked about your mom, she was on this floor today but has left already. Small world!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

