Elmo shoes and smiles

So, last week I was feeling pretty down about the issues PJ may be facing.  I was worried about his upcoming surgery, he hadn’t been sleeping and I thought he may have yet another sinus infection, and I was still worried about his “crazy face” that we thought at one point was infantile spasms.  I took my little guy down to the mall to do some shopping.  Success, we both came home feeling much better!!!  I bought him this adorable little outfit with a very cute giraffe hat.

Then I decided that it was time for him to have some shoes.  No, he isn’t anywhere near walking yet, but his little feet deserve to stay warm, right?  He loves Elmo so when I saw the bright red Elmo shoes I just knew they were made for him!

PJ has had lots of fun playing with these new shoes.

Wednesday I took him back to the pediatrician.  He has been coughing and not sleeping for over ten days now and I was worried that maybe he had another sinus infection.  I wanted to make sure if he did it was treated before his surgery.  Our doctor put him on a pretty strong antibiotic and gave us a referral for a pediatric ENT.  Apparently having croup 3 times in 3 months doesn’t quite fall into that normal range.  Then right before he left the room I brought up PJ’s crazy face again.  I let him know just how much I have been worrying and he was awesome.  He pulled out the EEG report and read it to me.  He said that PJ had one episode while hooked up and it only showed auxiliary muscle movement.  Basically,when you have all of these wires hooked up to you it will show movement anytime you move.  He told me that if I was really worried he could order a 24 hour EEG in the home.  I asked him if he thought we should do this and he said no.  He truly feels that this is nothing and we should just watch it and leave it alone unless it becomes more frequent.  He told me there is a condition called benign myoclonic seizures.  These mimic infantile spasms in the behavior exhibited, but they don’t cause brain damage, children outgrow them, and on an EEG they show up as auxiliary muscle movement.  For the first time in over a month I felt this total feeling of relief.  I walked out of his office really believing that everything would be okay.

I still have my moments though.  Today while walking into the Y an elderly woman saw PJ in his stroller and came over to say how cute he was.  She then stopped me, not once, but twice, to say he was sticking his tongue out.  She kept saying he is so cute but he’s just sticking his tongue out.  She seemed really baffled.  I wanted to tell her to bug off.  I wanted to say “that’s because he has Down Syndrome.”  But I was good and just told her that he does that sometimes.  So she smiled again and told me how cute he was.  It’s one of the first times that I actually think I handled it the right way.  I didn’t focus on the syndrome, he is just PJ and sometimes PJ does some funny things.  He also does some really amazing things, like clapping.  He learned to clap last week and is clapping all of the time now!!!!  We are introducing some table foods, like macaroni noodles and mashed potatoes and he loves them!!!  He is making progress everyday and I am so thankful for all of these little milestones!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan McComrick
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 23:17:36

    The hat is cute,the shoes are adorable– the wearer of both items is PRECIOUS!!

    Reply

  2. Julie
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 00:35:53

    He is so cute and I just can’t believe how big he is getting and all of the milestones he is reaching! So wonderful.

    Reply

  3. Rena Kocab
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 18:17:05

    PJ is precious and you are awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

