Nine Months Old

I can’t believe it’s been nine months already.  Patrick had his check up yesterday with our “new” pediatrician.  I feel so relieved to have finally found the right doctor.  He is totally on top of PJ’s needs.  He has ordered an ENT consult and a Pediatric Opthamologist consult and another hearing test.  These are are all part of the standard of care for any baby with Down Syndrome.  He has also ordered a Thyroid test which I have learned is imperative and our other pediatrician didn’t seem to feel it was warranted.  I have to say that one of the coolest things about this doctor is that he looks so similar to my brother in law, Tom.  He even has some of the same mannerisms.  I’ll have to ask him if he likes University of Michigan too.  Anyways, when he walks in the room I feel like I should get up and hug him.  But don’t worry, I don’t.  🙂

PJ is still doing great.  His weight and his height have tapered off a bit, everyone said that would happen.  PJ’s PT said that will help give his muscles a chance to catch up with the rest of his body.  Always a silver lining.

I was reading the entries for the My Great Story on the National Down Syndrome Association website.  Every month people from all over the country submit their story.  Today was the first day that I had any time to actually sit down and read some of them.  What I found was amazing.  I can honestly say that I haven’t found one story anywhere about having a child, or a brother, sister, aunt or uncle, that was negative.  Everybody has so many positive things to say.  A few weeks ago I was sitting at Alex’s basketball game and I met the grandfather of one of his teammates.  I had known that this man had had a brother with Down Syndrome, his daughter had told me.  PJ just kept staring at him.  He told me that his brother’s name was also Patrick and he had lived until he was 61.  He told me that his Patrick could feed himself but that was about it.  He never was able to dress or care for himself.  But then he looked at me and said, “But he taught our whole family so much.”  I went home that evening and told David.  I can tell you that I haven’t seen my husband cry very often but telling him this made him tear up.  One of our worries has been how will having a brother with Down Syndrome affect our other boys.  How will this change their lives?  We have come to realize that their lives will be altered forever and in a wonderful way.  Patrick’s very existence is going to shape each of my other children into men who are more loving, caring and tolerant than they would have otherwise been.  So, thank you Megan’s dad for letting me know this.  And thank you to our family and friends who find inspiring articles and send them our way.  I feel truly blessed that God chose our family to place Patrick in.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. joey
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 23:38:36

    … and PJ is so lucky to have you for a mother! Yes, your family is special/beautiful. ((hugs))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

