Why I love my children

Sometimes my life just gets so crazy because of my kids’ schedules.  Between two different schools, three different campuses, basketball (five different teams), pt,  speech, doctor appointments, etc; sometimes I feel like I don’t have time to do anything else.  This Christmas season has definitely fallen into that category.  I feel as though I have been so busy that I haven’t slowed down to really enjoy any part of this season.

This morning while I was packing lunches for the boys and thinking ahead of my lesson plan for my preschool class today, Ben looked at me and asked if I was coming to Birthday Blessings.  His school blesses each child during mass whose birthday falls into that month and today was the day for Ben.  I hadn’t planned on going to mass this morning and I told Ben that I was sorry but I had to work.  He just looked so sad and said that all of the other mom’s come.  This of course made me feel terrible.  Although I work at the Y preschool three mornings  a week, I am technically a stay at home mom.  The whole reason I stay home is so that I can do these things for my kids.  So I said I would come to mass.

You should of seen his face when he walked in.  He strained his little neck and looked all over church until his eyes finally rested on me and PJ.  Then his entire face just lit up with a smile.  I could of walked out of or the church at that moment and he wouldn’t have cared, he was just so happy that I came at all.  He didn’t look at me the rest of the mass.  So I sat back and listened to the priest.  I listened to him talk about preparing for Christmas and that Christmas wasn’t just a day but a season.  I sat there and prayed and for the first time in a few weeks really slowed down enough to actually talk to God.

I was so grateful when I left mass and drove to the Y.  I hadn’t wanted to go to church that morning.  I ended up driving really fast and going to work without any caffeine!!!  But for the first time this season I felt like my soul was preparing for Christmas.  All thanks to Ben!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 17:39:34

    Oh, my dear Lisa! Isn’t it miraculous how a day can get away from us and yet end up to be a perfect path to what’s important? Proud of you. Always, always, always choose your kids. I know you will. Love you!

    Reply

  2. joey
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 20:35:09

    As you have so beautifully shown, blessings abound, dear Lisa. You have shared many stories of blessings. For this in your busy life, why we so love/admire you. Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful family.

    Reply

  3. Laurie Hope
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 23:12:04

    Thanks for sharing that Lisa. It inspires me to do the same. And more than ever I need God in my life. Sending you and your family warm hugs, wishes for a joyous Christmas and a wonderful New Year. Love you guys.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

