Thanksgiving

Sometimes I can get so excited about a holiday that I can get all wrapped up into the work that goes into preparing for it.  Today was a perfect example.  I had spent so much time cooking for our Thanksgiving dinner.  As much as I love to cook, I hate cooking for my children because they don’t eat anything.  But I did it anyways.  I made the turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, carrots, cranberries, the whole nine yards.  At one point David looked at me and said, “What are you doing?”  I just replied “Setting my table.”  He laughed at me and said “You’re just making it perfect, aren’t you.”  When dinner was over we all went into the family room and watched the movie A Christmas Carol.  When I finally sat down and took a moment I looked around the room.  There was my family.  I saw the wide eyes of my children watching as Jacob Marley’s ghost came to haunt Scrooge.  I saw noticed for the first time today my children didn’t seem to be fighting.  I sat with PJ sleeping on my chest and Ben cuddled up next to me.  And I was thankful.  Thankful for this day.  Thankful for my family, both here and far away.  Thankful for the sweet little baby that was sleeping in my arms.

There was a time in my life when I got really caught up in materialism.  I felt like I had to compete with a close friend, who by the way had way more money than me so there was no competition.  I was up at Hubbard Lake once and looking out over the water and someone said to me that this was what was important.  Not the big house or the fancy cars.  I remember thinking to myself that it’s easy for someone with that big house and fancy car to say that.  I didn’t get it then.  But I get it now.

I have everything that I could ever want and more than I need.  I have been so blessed with five awesome boys and the most wonderful husband who works so tirelessly.  I am so blessed to have my parents alive and healthy.  I am blessed with wonderful siblings and great inlaws, and awesome nieces and nephews.  I have so much to be thankful today and everyday.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Chrysler
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 11:33:47

    And we’re so thankful for you and all your family, dear Lisa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

