Six Months Old Today!!!

I can’t believe how fast the past few months have gone.  Life doesn’t stop just because you have a baby.  There is still football, PTO, basketball, baseball, school, life.  I think that sometimes I can get so caught up in life that I don’t take the time to really live each moment.  Last week David had to go up to Kohler for a work function so I decided to go with him.  We took PJ with us.  Dave had to work all day so it was just me and Patrick exploring and spending time together.  What a treat.  I had no distractions.  Although I get lots of time one on one with PJ everyday, when we are at home I also have to do laundry, clean, cook, etc.  Not to mention the whirlwind that starts when the older boys get home.  So our days in Kohler were really special.  I just got to play with him, hold him and sing to him.  No distractions.  It reminded me of when he was in the hospital and my entire focus was on him all the time.  We spent a day like that again today.  We spent the morning cuddling and then the afternoon playing and doing his PT exercises.

 

PJ is definitely a little momma’s boy.  It’s as if he knows when I leave.  He can be completely happy or totally asleep but if I leave for even ten minutes I come home to a screaming baby.  He was starting to fuss this afternoon while Tommy was holding him.  I was upstairs doing laundry but when I walked down the hall he looked up and saw me at the balcony and started to laugh and smile.  His smile just warms my heart.  He is my last baby so I am soaking up every minute.  I know the day will come when he is going to want his dad and his brothers over me.  My mom told me once when Alex was a baby that he wasn’t really my baby.  He was just on loan to me.  I put that thought out of my head until recently.  Our children really are just on loan.  They grow up and eventually leave.  At least PJ reset that clock for us.

I guess I should give everyone a surgery update.  He is healing very nicely and although he was uncomfortable for a while he has no pain now.  He goes back under general anesthesia on November 4 so they can dialate his new anus and check everything out.  It’s an outpatient procedure which will cause him no pain, but it’s still general anesthesia.  The next surgery is scheduled for December 13 but I am going to push it back to January after I speak with Dr Sato.  This next surgery is supposed to be a 5 to 7 day stay in the hospital assuming no complications.  That puts us as coming home around December 20.  I don’t want his first Christmas to be in pain and I certainly don’t want to risk his first Christmas being spent in the hospital, so unless Dr Sato says it’s necessary to do it earlier rather than later we are going to wait.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joey
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 08:34:09

    Happy birthday … dear Lisa and PJ (what a lovely picture)!

    Reply

  2. Susan Chrysler
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 09:19:39

    Darling little PJ! Papa and I can’t wait to see you this weekend – your first Halloween! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

