Surgery Update

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything so I thought I would give everyone an update.  Patrick is doing awesome.  He had the stomach flu last week and was pretty sick.  It’s heartbreaking to hold your baby while he vomits and then dry heaves for hours on your lap.  He would wake up every ten minutes to heave and then he would cry himself back to sleep.  I can’t even begin to imagine what it would be like to have a baby who was sick with something much more serious than the flu.  I found out that my girlfriends nephew has a form of bone cancer.  Mayo clinic has never seen a child this young with this type of cancer.  How scary for those parents.  It’s terrifying to have your child in the hospital.  And as wonderful as the Children’s Hospitals are, they are scary places to spend time.

Last week we took Patrick to Children’s surgical clinic for a follow up appointment and to schedule his next surgery.  I have never had a problem with anxiety before, but I felt as though I was having a panic attack that day.  Just the drive brought back so many memories.  Memories of driving in to see my baby only to find out that he had a setback during the night which bought him another week there.  Every morning when I walked into his room I didn’t know what I would be met with.

The scheduling nurse told us that Dr Sato would be able to do Patrick’s surgery on Friday.  I felt my entire chest tighten and had to say no.  I wasn’t emotionally ready to bring him back there.  I wasn’t ready to watch them stick him with needles and see him hooked up to all of the machines again.  I have this fear of him having another complication.  This next surgery is supposed to be pretty straight forward.  They are making him an anus and pulling his colon through.  It’s about a 90 minute procedure and a 24 hour hospital stay.  He will be put under general anesthesia.  They won’t take his colostomy down yet though.  Although this isn’t a difficult surgery, it has its risks just like any other surgical procedure.  These are the risks that have put the fear of God in me.

We have scheduled the surgery for October 11, so please everybody say some prayers.  Until then, I will wake up everyday and see this beautiful little angel smiling up at me.  I will hold him every night until he falls asleep and look down and see his sweet face dreaming angelic dreams.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. joey
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 21:41:54

    My heart is with you and your dear family, Lisa. Ongoing prayers are with you. Please know you are surrounded in a circle of love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

