I really think that I have the world’s most awesome husband.  I wrote a while back that I was worried about how Patrick’s diagnosis of Down Syndrome would effect my marriage.  I spent a few years trying to convince David to go for one more baby.  I knew I would probably have another boy, I didn’t mind.  I just wanted another baby.  Sometimes we would all get in the car and I would look into the rearview mirror at my children and feel like someone was missing.  A baby with Down Syndrome was David’s biggest fear.  When we first found out that Patrick had an extra chromosome I was extremely worried about David.  I had no regrets in having PJ, but I did regret making David’s worst fear come true.  I was worried he would feel resentment towards me.  I shouldn’t have worried.

David is the man that I always knew he was.  He fell in love with PJ from the start.  While we were in the hospital he even thanked me for convincing him to have one more baby.

He is strong and loving and is able to put his family before himself.  For our anniversary this year he gave me a card that talked about this new road we were going down together.  He then wrote “That’s how it’s supposed to be, us being together.”

When I look in the rearview mirror now I don’t feel like anyone or anything is missing.  I see five wonderful children.  I look next to me at David and am so thankful that God has blessed me with such a family.

When my other boys were babies, David would have a hard time when left alone with them.  Whenever I left, the baby (and they all did this) would scream and cry and he had no way of soothing them.  They wouldn’t stop until I showed up and could calm them down by nursing.  I always felt bad for him because it made him feel terrible.  But Patrick is a whole different story.  Tonight Patrick began to scream and cry for me.  He was inconsolable.  If I tried to nurse him he would scream more.  It seemed like he was in pain.  But as soon as David took him from my arms PJ stopped crying.  David began singing in his ear “Back in the Saddle Again” and PJ was just entranced.  Then David would give him back to me and he’d start crying again.  So I would hand him back and David would sing and PJ would quiet down immediately.   I ended up nursing PJ while David was singing in his ear.  I think he’s going to be daddy’s little boy.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joey
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 00:10:26

    Reading about your journey brings tears to my eyes, dear Lisa. As PJ is a product of your love, you are a product of your parent’s love … the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

    And so remember David’s luv for his Porche and our sharing stories … am not surprised that he is there for his son, PJ … passionate people are passionate … his love for you and family is evident.

    A great photo …

    In loving thoughts and prayers for all …

    joey

    Reply

  2. Susan Chrysler
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 12:41:22

    No surprise there. We always knew Dave was the perfect husband and father. Your entries are beautiful, Lisa.

    Reply

  3. deborah kocab
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 22:00:58

    My dear sister, Lisa, and my precious baby brother, David…. Wow! I am in awe by God’s touch on your family, your marriage, and your beautiful sons. Although I’m at a distance, I feel the family love through your words, Lisa. I always say I see daddy in David – his devotion, his strength, the pride he has in his children… Lisa, you are a beautiful gift to our family. I love the photo of David holding PJ and them looking eye to eye. The “Back in the Saddle Again” song was on the family movie DVD mom and daddy made – another wonderful memory. I love you all sooo much and I can’t wait to visit again soon. I need some huggin from my nephews!

    love,
    Aunt Debbie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

