Right where I’m supposed to be

When David told me he was offered the job to move out there to Milwaukee almost two years ago I was incredibly sad.  As exciting as it was knowing that I was finally going to be able to move out of my tiny house in Royal Oak, I spent many nights crying over what I would be leaving behind.  Once David accepted the job I spent two months as a single parent while he was out here in Wisconsin.  Not fun!!!!  I cried the day I left Michigan and wasn’t very pleasant to my family as I unpacked my kitchen in our rented apartment.  I bitched about the snow, bitched about the cold, and bitched about the shopping (or lack thereof.)  But then, amazingly, I began to adjust.  I started working at my local YMCA to teach preschool classes.  I made friends in both of the schools my children attend.  And although I am still not crazy about the shopping, it’s nice to be able to go out at night and see every star in the sky because there is so little ground light here.

When I got pregnant I was so excited about having another baby.  Then I started getting sick.  I was more sick with PJ than with any of the other boys.  I was constantly throwing up and so tired.  When PJ was born and the shit hit the fan my head was spinning.  I would sit there and listen to the doctors and not remember half of what they would say to me.  I was in such a daze and just kept wondering why would God do this?  My baby has Down Syndrome.  My baby is sick and in the hospital.  I’m in Wisconsin!!  That’s when the answers started to pour in.

The first dinner showed up a few days after PJ was born.  Then more and more dinners, gifts, and flowers.  I’ve only been living here for a year and  a half but I can see that  God has truly brought me to the right community.  We had dinners delivered to our door five nights a week for two months.  We had prayers being said for PJ and our family all over the world.  I have felt so loved and so supported by so many people.  It makes me think of that poem “Footsteps” where God is carrying the man during his hard times.  I feel that the people around me carried me through the ordeal we went through with PJ in the hospital.

A few days ago I received one of those chain emails.  This one was about 9 -11.  It talked about a man who was supposed to be at work in the Trade Center but was late because he had to take his child to school.  Another person was late for work because they woke up with tooth pain and had to go to the dentist.  Someone else was stuck in traffic.  These people were probably all annoyed because of a situation that messed up their schedule.  The point of the email was that we are all right where we are supposed to be at each moment.  This really made me think.

I am supposed to be Patrick’s mom.  I am supposed to be here in Wisconsin.  I am supposed to be in this wonderful neighborhood, surrounded by awesome people.  I was supposed to meet Kathleen.  Patrick is supposed to know Emily.  God chose our family for Patrick.  My baby has Down Syndrome, but it’s going to be okay.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann LeWalk
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 12:49:52

    Lisa,
    You summed it up beautifully. Patrick is right where he is supposed to be… with you and David as his parents.

    You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers.
    God bless you all.
    Ann

    Reply

  2. joey
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 17:06:25

    Beautifully written, Lisa … and love the Hubbard Lake Family shot ❤

    Reply

  3. Erin
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 19:49:02

    Beautiful post! I’m really touched by your words and will keep you all in our prayers.

    Reply

  4. Wendy Kennedy
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 12:54:10

    You are so right. When Michael got sick 3+ years ago, I thanked God that if it had to happen, at least it was something that I knew so much about. God knew that he would be in good hands with a mom as a hematology/oncology nurse. He has provided us with a wonderful community–people always willing to help out with the other boys when Michael is in the hospital. We love you guys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

