Joey

In some ways I think that God gave me Joey to prepare for the challenges I might face with Patrick.  Joey is this wonderful and totally awesome kid who has a learning disability.  He needs a lot of extra help in school and at home.  He has trouble making friends because he has a hard time expressing himself.  He also has a tendency to get angry very easily because so many people don’t understand what he’s trying to tell them.  Joey has a three pronged speech delay but his biggest challenge is expressive language.  He also has dyslexia and is borderline ADHD.  We have struggled getting Joey the right diagnosis along with the right treatment.  But apart from his learning disability, he truly is such a cool kid to be around.  He is the one who comes to me smiling and always offering to help.  He says we’re on the same team because we both like diet coke.  He loves to help me with the dishes.  But most of all, he loves to help with PJ.  When Patrick first came home and I was doing wound care, Joey would stand there and hold the pacifier in his mouth to keep him from screaming.  Now when I change his colostomy bag, Joey will stand next to the changing table so that PJ doesn’t roll off while I get the bag ready.  The cool thing is that PJ seems just as infatuated with Joey.  Whenever Joey walks into a room, PJ stops and stares at him.  It’s like they have some special connection.  Joey was so young when Ben was born and the big brother roles were taken over by Alex and Tommy.  This is the first time that Joey really gets to help with the baby and he is loving it.

Out of all of my children, Joey has been my biggest challenge.  But I said that he was also the one who would take care of me when I got old.  I think he’ll take care of Patrick too.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joey
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 14:57:18

    So beautiful written, dear Lisa. A great photo of your beautiful boys ❤

    Reply

  2. Renee Parent
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 16:39:39

    Sibling connections are a beautiful thing. This made my heart melt. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. Susan Chrysler
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 20:17:17

    Not surprised. How we love our Joey.

    Reply

  4. Elaine Kocab Novosel
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 08:13:49

    They’re good for each other. God surely has His way of helping us. To know Joey is to love Joey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

