Prom Date

Shortly after PJ was born I took him with me to a special meeting in our school district that focuses on children who are struggling in school with one thing or another.  There were two mothers there who each had a child with Down Syndrome.  Their children were seniors in high school and had just gone to prom with one another.  One of the mothers told me that when her daughter was a baby she cried because she was so scared that no one would ask her beautiful daughter to prom.  It was something that I had never thought about until that moment.  Not getting a date to a dance can happen to any kid.  I should know, the boy I liked in high school took my sister to Homecoming!!!  But it’s heartbreaking to think that someone would laugh at or mock your child for even asking because of DS.  It makes me feel grateful that Patrick and Emily have each other.  They will always have someone to go to dance with at a middle school dance (and I’m sure PJ’s brothers will teach him all their cool moves.)   They will always have each other for prom.  They are going to grow up together and touch all of our lives in ways that we can’t even begin to realize yet.  God makes no mistakes.

Leave a Reply

