Down Syndrome is not as scary as you think

When David and I made the decision not to have an amnio during my pregnancy to test for Down Syndrome it was made over a long conversation.  I am a pro-lifer and cannot conceive of intentionally ending my pregnancy.  But this wasn’t just my decision.  I truly wanted to know that how my husband felt.  When I asked him he just looked at me like I was crazy.  He said to me, “Well, we would still have the baby anyways, so why bother with the amnio?”  I responded that I felt that way but I didn’t want to make the decision alone.  He just gave me a hug and told me that we would love our baby no matter what.  I am so grateful that we made that decision.  I would have ended up spending four months feeling depressed and anxious.

Since Patrick has been born I have done a lot of research on Down Syndrome.  One of the more depressing things that I have found was that between 80 to 90% of women who find out they are carrying a child with Down Syndrome choose an abortion.  I am not about to try to tell someone else what they should or should not do, but I do want to show all women out there that Down Syndrome is not as scary as you may think.

I asked David the other day what he thought of this blog and he told me that he felt that I am focusing on Patrick’s DS too much.  He said that when he looks at PJ, he doesn’t see the syndrome, he sees our son.  That’s really what it comes down too.  Patrick is our baby and we love him as we have loved all of our other babies.  Sure, we had a health scare at the beginning and we have a few more doctor appointments now.  But for the most part, he is no different than any other baby.  He smiles at us and coos.  He loves to pull himself up to a standing position on your lap.  He loves it when you sing into his ear and he just loves his bath!!!!

I posted earlier about a web site I found called Reese’s Rainbow.  It’s a third party site to help children with Down Syndrome around the world find a home.  In other countries, babies born with DS are placed into orphanages.  If they don’t get adopted they are put into institutions for life.  These sweet children need families but more than that they need prayers.

So I guess my point today is that Down Syndrome is okay.  I was really scared at first but am not anymore.  Down Syndrome isn’t that scary.  Patrick truly is this little angel sent to us from heaven and we are so blessed to have him!!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joey
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 23:03:38

    Your family, each and every one, is truly special. And you, dear Lisa, are amazing and awe-inspiring … so many gifts to share … including a creative pen on fire! Blessed to know you and your beautiful family.

    Reply

  2. Elaine Kocab Novosel
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 16:26:53

    Lisa,

    I fell in love with Patrick from the first time I saw and held him which was a week before his baptism. My love has grown deeper with each day. Holding him he just snuggles into my arms and the effect he has on me is so calming and gratifying. Thank you God for this blessed little angel. Alex, Tommy give him such loving care and Joey and Ben are always wanting to hold him. Having 4 older brothers is wonderful for him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

