Do they know?

Tonight we went as a family to a corn roast at the home of one of David’s friends from work.  There was another family there with their 20 year old son who also has Down Syndrome.  I wasn’t sure if I should go up and introduce myself or not.  I have often read from other parents that they forget their child has DS until someone like me comes up and reminds them.  I didn’t want to do that.  But after a while I did decide to go say hello and I am so glad I did.  She embraced me when she was PJ.  She told me that her son Andrew has brought their family so much joy.  She explained how he has had this ripple effect and touched the lives of everyone in the community.  When I told her about PJ she gave me a look as if to say I didn’t need to tell her.  This brought on a range of emotions and questions.  I often wonder when strangers look at my baby if they can tell.  I wonder if they see any signs, are they wondering if something is wrong?  Or do they just see this sweet adorable little baby who looks like all other babies.  Sometimes people come up to me and tell me how cute my baby is and I feel like I need to blurt out, “Thank you.  He has Down Syndrome.”  Thank God I haven’t said that yet, I can only imagine how uncomfortable that would make someone else feel.  When I look at my baby, all I see is my baby.  I see a mixture of his brothers all rolled into this beautiful little face.  I see his bright blue eyes and his big open mouth smile. 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine Kodab Novosel
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 10:14:37

    He is so beautiful and sweet. I watch as his 4 brothers play with him and love he so much. I immediately fell in love with him at first sight and then when I held him he just snuggles in my arms and into my heart.

    Patrick’s Grandma Kocab

    Reply

Leave a Reply

